Franchise Directory
2 franchise brands scored by real SBA loan performance data.
Sources: SBA 7(a) Foia Data, FTC Franchise Rule (FDDs)
How do I find the best franchise to buy?
PeerSense scores 6,300+ franchise brands using real SBA loan performance data, not marketing materials. Compare initial investment, royalty rate, unit count, and our proprietary FPI (Franchise Performance Index) score side-by-side. The most-funded franchises by SBA loan volume are Subway, Quiznos, Dairy Queen, Anytime Fitness, and Domino's, but the right brand for you depends on your budget, category, and target geography.
, PeerSense Capital Advisory · Updated April 27, 2026
Showing 1-2 of 2 franchises in Payroll Services
Payroll Vault
Payroll ServicesEvery small business owner running payroll on a spreadsheet, struggling to keep up with quarterly tax filings, or paying a national processing giant far more than their account warrants represents exactly the market gap that Payroll Vault was built to close. Sean Manning, a CPA and Certified Fraud Examiner who began his accounting career in 1990 with his father's firm Robert C. Manning, P.C., recognized by the mid-2000s that the payroll services industry was systematically underserving the small and mid-sized business segment. Manning purchased his father's firm in 1998 and rebranded it Manning and Company, P.C., building deep operational expertise in small-business accounting before launching Payroll Vault in 2008 from a foundation in Littleton, Colorado. The core thesis was straightforward but strategically sound: small and mid-sized businesses wanted the technological sophistication of a national payroll processor combined with the personalized service of a local accountant they could actually call and reach. Payroll Vault Franchising, LLC was formally established in 2012 to expand that model through qualified entrepreneurs, giving local operators a national brand architecture and proprietary technology platform to compete with institutional-scale processors. Today, the Payroll Vault franchise network spans more than 60 locations across the United States, with the brand having expanded into at least 23 states plus the U.S. Virgin Islands as of mid-2024. The leadership team directing this growth includes Founder and CEO Sean Manning, Director of Franchise Development Marilyn Manning, Vice President Douglas Holsted, Chief Marketing Officer Jessica B. Martin CFE, and Operations and Training Support specialist Alissa Perdue. For franchise investors evaluating the payroll services sector, Payroll Vault occupies a strategically defensible niche position: a technology-enabled, locally delivered service brand operating in an industry the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics values at $47 billion domestically and serving an addressable customer base of approximately 30 million businesses nationwide. This analysis is produced independently by PeerSense and is not sponsored by or affiliated with Payroll Vault or its parent franchising entity. The payroll services and workforce management industry is one of the most structurally durable sectors available to franchise investors, combining recurring revenue characteristics with powerful secular demand tailwinds that show no sign of reversing. The global payroll services market was estimated at USD 35.32 billion in 2026 and is projected to reach USD 52.75 billion by 2031, representing a compound annual growth rate of 8.35% over that five-year window according to Mordor Intelligence. A separate analysis from IMARC Group places the global payroll outsourcing market at USD 10.2 billion in 2025 and projects it reaching USD 16.1 billion by 2034, growing at a CAGR of 4.94% through the 2026 to 2034 period. Domestically, the U.S. payroll industry alone is valued at $47 billion and serves an estimated 30 million businesses, the vast majority of which are small and mid-sized enterprises that lack in-house payroll expertise. The single most powerful demand driver in this industry is regulatory complexity: businesses face widening and frequently changing compliance obligations at the city, state, and federal levels, including payroll tax requirements, wage and hour laws, ACA reporting, and increasingly complex multi-state filing obligations created by the post-pandemic shift to remote and hybrid work. Every regulatory change represents a renewal event for outsourced payroll relationships, because the cost of getting it wrong, in the form of IRS penalties, state audits, and employee lawsuits, far exceeds the cost of a professional service subscription. The industry is characterized by moderate fragmentation at the local and regional level, with large national processors dominating enterprise accounts but leaving an enormous gap in personalized service for businesses with five to one hundred employees. This structural fragmentation is precisely the competitive environment in which a franchised local-service model can establish durable client relationships based on accessibility and responsiveness rather than commoditized pricing alone. The Payroll Vault franchise investment is structured as a relatively accessible entry point compared to most brick-and-mortar franchise categories, with a total investment range of $77,375 to $111,885 based on current disclosure data, making it a predominantly sub-$100,000 investment opportunity in most territory configurations. The franchise fee structure is tiered based on territory size: a standard single territory carries an initial franchise fee, with an additional $10,000 applied to territories encompassing 7,500 businesses and an additional $20,000 for territories covering 10,000 businesses, reflecting the proportionally larger addressable client base in those markets. Veterans receive a 10% discount off the franchise fee, a meaningful incentive in a category that rewards disciplined service delivery and client relationship management skills developed in military careers. A technology startup fee of $750 is required at onboarding to establish the franchisee on the proprietary internet web system, representing a nominal incremental cost relative to total investment. Ongoing fee obligations include a royalty rate of 6% of gross revenues with a required minimum payment beginning at $400 per month that can scale to $600 or $800 per month depending on territory size, and a flat monthly marketing and advertising fund contribution of $300 per month to support brand-wide promotional initiatives. The net worth requirement of $250,000 and liquid capital requirement in the range of $50,000 to $100,000 establish a moderate financial qualification bar relative to the investment amount, suggesting the franchisor prioritizes franchisee financial stability over rapid unit growth. The franchise is SBA approved, and third-party financing options are available, which meaningfully expands the qualifying candidate pool and allows franchisees to preserve working capital during the critical client acquisition phase. Compared to service-based franchise categories that require commercial real estate leases, equipment buildouts, and significant initial inventory, the Payroll Vault franchise cost structure reflects the asset-light nature of a technology-enabled professional services model. Daily operations for a Payroll Vault franchisee center on client relationship management, payroll processing execution, compliance monitoring, and ongoing business development, rather than the physical product delivery or inventory management that characterizes retail and food service franchises. The business model is fundamentally a professional services operation, meaning franchisees spend their time acquiring small and mid-sized business clients, onboarding them to Payroll Vault's proprietary technology platforms, processing payroll on recurring weekly, biweekly, or semi-monthly cycles, and serving as a compliance resource when tax deadlines and regulatory changes arise. Staffing requirements are lean relative to other franchise categories, consistent with a service model that scales on technology rather than labor, though specific headcount guidance varies based on territory size and client volume. Payroll Vault offers franchisees flexibility across single, expanded, and area development territory structures, allowing growth-oriented investors to secure larger geographic footprints aligned with their business development capacity. The training program includes a 3-day comprehensive onboarding conducted at the company's headquarters, supplemented by step-by-step technology setup support, ongoing compliance guidance, and a structured launch sequence designed to enable franchisees to begin serving clients even without prior payroll or HR industry experience. Ongoing corporate support is delivered through multiple channels: monthly owner calls, an annual conference, weekly marketing and operational support calls, and direct peer-to-peer access within the franchise community. Franchisees do not build marketing materials independently, as the corporate office provides flyers, brochures, and other collateral, reducing the time and cost burden of local marketing execution. Exclusive territory rights are granted, protecting franchisees from intra-brand competition within their defined market and incentivizing long-term client base development. Item 19 financial performance data is not disclosed in the current Franchise Disclosure Document, meaning prospective Payroll Vault franchisees will not find average annual revenue, median unit revenue, or profit margin data within the standard FDD filing. This is a meaningful due diligence consideration: without Item 19 disclosure, investors cannot benchmark a typical Payroll Vault franchisee's annual gross revenue against industry norms or calculate an estimated payback period from disclosed data alone. Franchisors are legally permitted, however, to provide the actual financial records of a specific existing outlet to a prospective buyer considering that location, and may supplement Item 19 with additional performance context in that context. To assess the financial opportunity in the absence of system-wide revenue disclosure, investors should draw on industry-level benchmarks: the U.S. payroll services market generates $47 billion annually across roughly 30 million addressable business clients, implying meaningful per-client annual revenue at even modest market penetration rates. Payroll services are subscription-like in structure, with clients typically paying monthly processing fees, quarterly tax filing fees, and annual compliance service fees, creating a recurring revenue base that compounds as the franchisee's client roster grows. The Payroll Vault franchise investment range of $77,375 to $111,885 is low enough that even moderate recurring revenue generation from a stable client base of 50 to 100 businesses could produce reasonable returns relative to invested capital, though investors must conduct direct franchise validation interviews and request available performance data from the franchisor to form a defensible financial projection. The absence of Item 19 disclosure should prompt investors to conduct thorough franchisee validation calls with existing operators to gather first-hand revenue and client acquisition data before committing capital. Payroll Vault's growth trajectory from a single-location accounting service spinoff in 2008 to a franchised network of more than 60 locations by early 2025 reflects a deliberate and sustained expansion strategy anchored in the 2012 launch of Payroll Vault Franchising, LLC. In the first four months of 2024 alone, the company added eight new franchise locations, achieving a growth rate of 15.4% over that period, with the formal grand opening of seven offices on May 1, 2024 representing single-day entries into Castle Rock and Denver, Colorado; East Granby, Connecticut; Rehoboth, Delaware; Atlanta, Georgia; Watertown, South Dakota; and Frisco, Texas. The May 2024 openings marked Payroll Vault's first presence in both Delaware and Connecticut, demonstrating active geographic diversification beyond its Colorado roots. The company's stated expansion target is 20 new franchise locations in 2024 and at least 20 new locations every year thereafter, an ambitious growth rate that, if sustained, would double the network within three to four years. Additional locations confirmed in late 2024 and beyond include Frederick, Maryland, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, Brooklyn, New York, and Downtown Dallas, Texas, illustrating geographic diversity across suburban, rural, and urban market types. With over 1,000 territories still identified as available nationwide as of late 2025, the white space opportunity for new Payroll Vault franchise owners remains substantial. The brand's competitive moat is built on three reinforcing pillars: proprietary technology infrastructure that delivers enterprise-grade payroll processing through locally operated relationships, a compliance expertise advantage rooted in Sean Manning's CPA and CFE credentials embedded in the brand's training curriculum, and the structural stickiness of payroll service relationships, where switching costs are high and client retention rates in well-managed local operations tend to be strong. The ideal Payroll Vault franchisee profile is a business-development-oriented professional who values recurring revenue models and is comfortable building service relationships with local business owners, accountants, and HR decision-makers. Prior payroll or HR experience is not required, as the 3-day headquarters training program and ongoing compliance guidance are specifically designed to onboard operators from diverse professional backgrounds, including accounting, banking, financial services, insurance, and general business management. Owner-operator engagement is characteristic of the model given the relationship-driven nature of small business payroll service, though the asset-light, technology-platform structure does not require franchisees to be physically present in a retail location at all times. Franchise candidates can select from single territory, expanded territory, or area development structures, with the area development option particularly suited to investors who want to build a multi-unit portfolio or secure a large metropolitan footprint from the outset. Available territories span all 50 states plus the U.S. Virgin Islands, with more than 1,000 territories still unallocated as of late 2025, providing broad geographic flexibility for candidates in virtually any U.S. market. The December 2024 Frederick, Maryland opening, led by a husband-and-wife team, illustrates that the model accommodates partnership structures and family business models. The current FPI Score assigned to Payroll Vault by the PeerSense independent rating system is 56, classified as Moderate, a score that reflects the brand's growth momentum and accessible investment range balanced against the limited financial performance disclosure currently available in the FDD. Payroll Vault presents a franchise opportunity situated at the intersection of two durable investment themes: the accelerating outsourcing of compliance-sensitive business services and the structural advantages of recurring-revenue, technology-enabled professional service franchises. The payroll services industry's domestic market of $47 billion, combined with a global payroll outsourcing segment projected to reach $16.1 billion by 2034, provides a large and expanding revenue pool for well-positioned local operators. The Payroll Vault franchise investment range of $77,375 to $111,885 represents a below-average capital commitment compared to most franchise categories, the SBA approval status broadens financing access, and the veteran discount acknowledges the service-oriented profile of many qualified candidates. The brand's 15.4% unit growth rate in the first four months of 2024, its expansion into two new states in a single day in May 2024, and its publicly stated target of 20 or more new openings per year signal a franchisor in an active growth phase with infrastructure being built to support it. Investors should note that Item 19 financial performance data is not disclosed in the current FDD, making franchisee validation calls and review of any supplemental performance data provided by the franchisor essential components of pre-investment due diligence. PeerSense provides exclusive due diligence data including SBA lending history, FPI score analysis, location maps with Google ratings, FDD financial data, and side-by-side comparison tools that allow investors to benchmark Payroll Vault against every comparable franchise concept in the payroll and business services category. Explore the complete Payroll Vault franchise profile on PeerSense to access the full suite of independent franchise intelligence data.
Safeguard
Payroll ServicesThe question every serious franchise investor should ask before committing capital is not "Does this brand look promising?" but rather "What does the data actually say about this business model, its staying power, and my realistic odds of generating a return?" When evaluating the Safeguard franchise opportunity, that question becomes particularly layered, because the Safeguard name appears across multiple distinct business categories — from printing and business services to real estate investment — and the franchise investor must cut through that complexity to understand exactly what opportunity is on the table. Safeguard Business Systems, the primary franchise vehicle operating at gosafeguard.com, traces its franchising origins to 1956, making it one of the longest-running franchise systems in American business services history, with more than six decades of operating experience inside an established model. The company operates as a wholly-owned subsidiary of Deluxe Corp., a publicly held enterprise headquartered in Shoreview, Minnesota — meaning the corporate parent carries institutional accountability and financial resources that many independent franchise brands cannot match. Safeguard's own operational headquarters is anchored in Dallas, Texas, and the network has grown to more than 300 offices across the United States and Canada, combining independently owned and operated distributorships with nine company-owned locations as of the data available from 2016. The brand's core mission is straightforward: help businesses grow their brand and bottom line by acquiring and retaining customers, delivering that value through a portfolio of print-based and digital marketing services that has expanded far beyond its original foundation of checks and business forms. For investors considering franchise opportunities in the business-to-business services space, Safeguard represents a historically durable brand with deep corporate backing, though a thorough analysis of its unit economics, training infrastructure, and franchise structure is essential before making any capital commitment. Understanding why the Safeguard franchise opportunity exists — and why investors continue to explore it — requires a clear view of the industry dynamics powering the business services and payroll services sector. The global payroll services market alone was valued at approximately 73.25 billion dollars in 2025, with projections placing it at 75.18 billion dollars in 2026, reflecting a compound annual growth rate of 2.6 percent. Looking further out, that market is expected to reach 88.4 billion dollars by 2030, accelerating to a CAGR of 4.1 percent, driven by key structural trends including the adoption of cloud-based platforms, increased regulatory complexity across jurisdictions, and the growing demand from small and medium-sized businesses for outsourced back-office functions. Within the broader business services ecosystem where Safeguard competes — spanning printed forms, promotional products, digital marketing, direct mail, search engine optimization, and branded business materials — the addressable market is similarly expansive, as virtually every small business in America needs some combination of these services at some point in its operating lifecycle. The shift from purely transactional print services to integrated marketing solutions has created a secular tailwind for business services franchises that can evolve their portfolios, and Safeguard's expansion into Web and email marketing, search engine marketing, eChecks, and direct mail services illustrates exactly that kind of product evolution. The business-to-business services segment also tends to produce more recurring, relationship-driven revenue than consumer-facing franchise categories, because once a small business owner establishes a reliable vendor relationship for invoicing materials, payroll forms, or branded promotional items, switching costs are meaningfully high. This dynamic of customer stickiness, combined with the sheer scale of the American small business ecosystem — which counts more than 30 million small businesses as potential customers — gives a well-positioned Safeguard franchisee access to a durable and renewing demand base. For prospective investors conducting rigorous Safeguard franchise cost analysis, the numbers tell a story of unusually low capital barriers relative to the broader franchise universe. The initial franchise fee is documented at between approximately 1,100 dollars and 1,530 dollars depending on which version of the Franchise Disclosure Document is referenced, making it among the most accessible franchise entry points in the entire business services category — a category where competing concepts often charge franchise fees of 20,000 to 50,000 dollars or more. The total initial Safeguard franchise investment range spans from a low of approximately 10,030 dollars to a high of approximately 65,130 dollars, depending on the specific format, geographic market, and operational setup the franchisee selects, with the spread between the low and high end driven primarily by working capital requirements, initial inventory of marketing materials, and local market setup costs. The liquid capital requirement for a Safeguard franchise investment stands at a minimum of 25,000 dollars, with working capital specifically cited in the range of 5,000 to 15,000 dollars, positioning this as one of the most accessible entry-level business-to-business franchise models available to investors who meet the sales and relationship-building profile Safeguard seeks. Ongoing fees are structured as royalties ranging from 4 to 8 percent of gross sales, which falls within the typical range for service-based franchises and reflects the revenue-sharing model common across business services franchise systems. Safeguard Business Systems carries the financial backing of its parent company Deluxe Corp., a publicly held organization, which provides institutional stability that independent brands cannot replicate and creates a layer of corporate accountability that matters during economic volatility. For veterans and other investors exploring franchise opportunities with lower capital thresholds, the Safeguard franchise cost structure is notable for its accessibility relative to the support infrastructure and brand history that comes with it, though investors should always verify current FDD figures directly and consult with a franchise attorney before signing any agreement. The daily operating reality of a Safeguard franchise is built for a specific type of entrepreneur: the experienced outside sales professional who wants the structure of an established system without the overhead of a traditional retail or service location. The business model is fundamentally relationship-driven, centered on building and maintaining long-term partnerships with small and mid-sized business owners who need a reliable source for branded print materials, promotional items, apparel, business services including logo and web design, search engine marketing, and direct mail campaigns. Staffing at a Safeguard franchise is typically lean but strategically composed, with the franchisee supported by a team that can include customer service representatives, account managers, art directors, and print production specialists — a configuration that allows the owner to stay focused on client acquisition and relationship management rather than production-level tasks. Safeguard's initial training program is notably comprehensive for a franchise at this investment level, spanning two full weeks conducted at Safeguard's headquarters in Dallas, Texas, with a curriculum totaling 439 hours — broken down into 309 hours of classroom instruction and 130 hours of on-the-job training covering sales techniques, marketing strategy, business development tools, and operational procedures. That training is delivered through multiple formats including classroom instruction, online modules, conference calls, WebEx conferencing, and field visits from support personnel, reflecting a multi-channel learning approach designed to accommodate different learning styles and geographic situations. Safeguard reinforces that initial training with regional seminars and an annual sales convention, creating a community of practice among franchisees that shares best practices and benchmarks performance. One operationally significant data point for prospective investors: Safeguard Business Systems does not offer territory protections to its franchisees, meaning multiple franchisees could theoretically compete in the same geographic market, which is a structural consideration that deserves careful analysis during due diligence and should be a direct topic of conversation with the five or more existing franchisees that independent franchise advisors recommend consulting before signing. Item 19 financial performance data is not disclosed in the current Franchise Disclosure Document for Safeguard. This is a meaningful gap for any investor attempting to build a rigorous unit economics model, because without franchisor-disclosed revenue figures, break-even analysis, or profit margin data, investors must triangulate from external signals rather than working from verified first-party reporting. The 2016 FDD data, the most detailed publicly available reference, explicitly states that franchise revenue depends on a wide range of factors, and no specific revenue or profit figures are provided within the document itself. When a franchisor elects not to include Item 19 disclosures, it may reflect the early-stage nature of the franchise system, the breadth of variability across franchisee outcomes, or a preference to allow individual sales conversations rather than written financial commitments to drive investor interest — none of these are automatically disqualifying, but all warrant direct and probing questions during the discovery process. For broader industry benchmarking, the payroll and business services sector generates substantial per-unit revenue across comparable franchise models, with the global payroll services market projected to grow from 73.25 billion dollars in 2025 to 88.4 billion dollars in 2030, suggesting that the underlying market demand supporting Safeguard's core service categories is structurally growing rather than contracting. Franchisee John Rath, a Safeguard franchise owner since 2007, has publicly cited that Safeguard's back-office support infrastructure in areas like invoicing, collections, and cash flow management allows franchisees to concentrate on sales activity, which is the primary driver of revenue at the unit level. The FPI Score assigned to Safeguard in the PeerSense database is 44, categorized as Fair — a data point that reflects a moderate assessment of the franchise's overall investment profile relative to the broader franchise universe, and one that investors should weigh alongside qualitative factors including corporate support depth, market positioning, and individual franchisee satisfaction reports gathered through direct outreach. Safeguard's growth trajectory reflects both the longevity and the measured pace of a franchise system that has operated for more than six decades without abandoning its core identity. As of the most recent available data, the Safeguard network encompasses more than 300 offices across the United States and Canada, including a mix of independently owned distributorships and nine company-owned locations, with 41 formally franchised Safeguard locations documented in the 2016 FDD operating across 26 states — with the Midwest representing the highest concentration at 13 franchise locations. The brand is actively accepting inquiries from investors in numerous U.S. states including Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, California, and many others, as well as Canada, indicating a deliberate geographic expansion posture. Safeguard's competitive moat is built on several interlocking advantages: the institutional backing of parent company Deluxe Corp., a product portfolio that has successfully evolved from traditional printed business forms and checks to include promotional products, direct mail, Web and email marketing, SEO, SEM, and eChecks, and a customer base characterized by high switching costs and long-term vendor relationships. The brand's expansion into digital marketing services — particularly search engine optimization and search engine marketing — represents a strategic adaptation to the reality that small business owners increasingly need integrated marketing solutions rather than purely transactional print services, and positions Safeguard franchisees as consultative partners rather than commodity vendors. Scott Sutton serves as VP of acquisition and development for Safeguard Business Systems, providing identifiable leadership accountable for franchise growth strategy. Separately, the SafeGuard Realty Investments franchise operates under the same brand umbrella, offering a distinct real estate investment franchise model focused on residential income properties with 2 to 20 rental units, targeting a U.S. market of 25 million rental properties of which 92 percent are owned by individual investors — though this is an entirely separate franchise opportunity with a liquid capital requirement of 60,000 to 120,000 dollars and a veteran discount program. The ideal Safeguard franchise candidate is not a passive investor seeking absentee ownership — this is an owner-operator model designed specifically for professionals with a demonstrated outside sales or sales management track record, preferably with experience in business-to-business selling environments where relationship cultivation and consultative selling are the primary revenue drivers. Safeguard's own guidance emphasizes that networking ability and the capacity to build lasting business relationships are the most critical attributes for franchisee success, making this opportunity best suited to individuals who have spent years developing a professional network within a local or regional business community that they can activate as a customer base. The franchise model is structured to accommodate both standalone new business launches and complementary expansions for professionals who already operate in adjacent business services categories. With 41 franchised locations across 26 states documented in the most recent FDD data, substantial geographic territory remains open across the United States and Canada, and the brand's active inquiry acceptance across dozens of states signals that expansion-stage territories are available to qualified candidates. Prospective franchisees should plan to speak directly with a minimum of five existing Safeguard franchisees to understand the realistic timeline from signing to break-even, the true total cost of launching the business including working capital consumption in the pre-revenue phase, and the specific categories of Safeguard's product and service portfolio that generate the most recurring revenue in their target markets. The two-week headquarters-based training program provides the operational foundation, but success in this model is ultimately driven by the franchisee's personal sales activity and client relationship depth rather than by foot traffic, location, or brand awareness in the traditional retail franchise sense. Synthesizing the full data picture, the Safeguard franchise opportunity presents a distinctive investment thesis: a historically proven brand operating since 1956, backed by the institutional resources of publicly held parent company Deluxe Corp., delivering business services into a growing addressable market projected to reach 88.4 billion dollars by 2030, with an unusually low capital barrier to entry — total investment ranging from approximately 10,030 to 65,130 dollars — that makes it accessible to a category of qualified investor often priced out of larger franchise systems. The PeerSense FPI Score of 44 places this franchise in the Fair category, which reflects a balanced and honest assessment that warrants thorough due diligence rather than either dismissal or uncritical enthusiasm. The absence of Item 19 financial performance disclosure means that revenue and profitability modeling requires investor-driven research, including direct conversations with existing franchisees and independent financial analysis benchmarked against the broader business services sector. PeerSense provides exclusive due diligence data including SBA lending history, FPI score, location maps with Google ratings, FDD financial data, and side-by-side comparison tools that allow investors to evaluate the Safeguard franchise investment against competing opportunities across the business services and payroll services categories with the analytical rigor that a decision of this magnitude demands. The combination of Deluxe Corp. backing, a 68-plus-year franchising history, a low-capital entry structure, and a product portfolio evolving toward higher-margin digital marketing services creates a due diligence case that any serious investor in the B2B services space should examine carefully and completely. Explore the complete Safeguard franchise profile on PeerSense to access the full suite of independent franchise intelligence data.
Why Research With PeerSense?
Other franchise sites rely on marketing materials. We use real SBA lending data to show you what's actually happening.
Real Default Rates
See actual SBA loan default rates for every franchise brand. Know which brands have borrowers who repay, and which don't.
Lender Intelligence
Discover which SBA lenders fund each brand, their approval volumes, and default performance. Get matched with the right lender.
Industry Benchmarks
Compare any franchise against its industry benchmarks. See if it outperforms or underperforms the sector average.
Most-Researched Franchise Brands
About the PeerSense Franchise Directory
The PeerSense Franchise Directory is the most comprehensive data-driven franchise research tool available. With over 6,300 franchise brands scored by real SBA data and 133,000+ mapped locations, each profile includes our proprietary Franchise Performance Index (FPI), composite health scores, SBA lending data, geographic distribution, and FDD-sourced investment details.
Unlike other franchise directories, PeerSense uses real SBA loan performance data to evaluate franchise brands. Our data comes from 100+ industry sectors and 899+ SBA lenders, giving you an objective, data-backed view of franchise performance.
What is the Franchise Performance Index (FPI)?
The FPI is a proprietary scoring system that evaluates franchise brands on a 0-100 scale based on SBA loan repayment performance, lender diversity, geographic reach, system maturity, lending velocity, and financial transparency. See how brands rank system-wide on fundability in the Franchise Fundability Index, our 0-100 score for how reliably banks fund each brand.
How to Use This Directory
Start by browsing popular categories like Restaurants, Hotels, Fitness Centers, or Child Day Care. You can also search by name, filter by investment range, and sort by FPI score to find top performers.
Once you find a franchise, explore its full profile for SBA lending history, health scores, FDD fees, and revenue data. Then check industry benchmarks to compare it against the sector, or find specialized SBA lenders who fund that brand. Looking to buy? Browse businesses for sale with data-backed valuations.
Found a franchise? Get matched with SBA financing to buy it.
Most franchise buyers use an SBA 7(a) loan for the acquisition. Tell us the brand and your budget. PeerSense reviews it against real lender data and comes back with the specific lenders most likely to approve your deal. Our referral fee is realized at closing.
See what you'd qualify for
Tell us the franchise brand and your budget. We'll match you with the SBA lenders most likely to fund it. Response within 24–48 hours.
SBA Franchise Acquisition: Response within 24–48 hours. No obligation.
Or Explore Franchise Financing Programs
Prefer to research first? PeerSense arranges capital through a curated network of lenders. Explore the programs used most for franchise acquisition, build-out, and refinance.
Top 200 Franchises by SBA Loan Volume
The 200 franchise brands with the deepest public SBA 7(a) loan track records, ranked by approval volume. Each profile includes peak SBA year, top state, average loan size, and lender concentration ratio, the data prospective franchisees and capital advisors use to benchmark a brand's financing accessibility.
- 1.Subway6,080
- 2.Quiznos2,764
- 3.Dairy Queen2,005
- 4.Anytime Fitness1,274
- 5.Cold Stone Creamery1,219
- 6.Quality Inn1,191
- 7.Ace Hardware1,175
- 8.The UPS Store1,108
- 9.Jimmy John's1,071
- 10.Comfort Inn & Suites945
- 11.Best Western882
- 12.Domino's Pizza880
- 13.Econo Lodge794
- 14.Baskin-Robbins775
- 15.SERVPRO717
- 16.Smoothie King707
- 17.Firehouse Subs698
- 18.The Goddard School687
- 19.Matco Tools676
- 20.Blimpie658
- 21.Meineke Car Care Centers632
- 22.Motel 6613
- 23.Maaco608
- 24.Great Clips600
- 25.Massage Envy591
- 26.AAMCO Transmissions,584
- 27.Hampton by Hilton582
- 28.Kiddie Academy567
- 29.Primrose Schools554
- 30.Ameriprise Financial540
- 31.La Quinta by Wyndham539
- 32.Fantastic Sams536
- 33.Schlotzsky's532
- 34.Minuteman Press527
- 35.FASTSIGNS504
- 36.Choice Hotels499
- 37.Marco's Pizza499
- 38.Curves493
- 39.Edible490
- 40.Ramada by Wyndham484
- 41.HOTWORX482
- 42.Papa Murphy's480
- 43.Midas478
- 44.Big O Tires466
- 45.Jersey Mike's463
- 46.Red Roof Inn461
- 47.Home Instead445
- 48.Cicis Pizza437
- 49.Burger King419
- 50.Super 8409
- 51.Budget Blinds409
- 52.Play It Again Sports408
- 53.Zaxby's393
- 54.ServiceMaster390
- 55.European Wax Center389
- 56.Sleep Inn382
- 57.Days Inn369
- 58.The Learning Experience364
- 59.Culver's363
- 60.Tropical Smoothie Cafe363
- 61.Dunkin' Donuts359
- 62.Howard Johnson349
- 63.All Tune and Lube348
- 64.Scooter's Coffee342
- 65.Rodeway Inn339
- 66.Arby's330
- 67.Kids R Kids326
- 68.Snap Fitness323
- 69.Sport Clips320
- 70.Christian Brothers Automotive319
- 71.Nothing Bundt Cakes318
- 72.Planet Beach318
- 73.Golden Corral315
- 74.Shell Service Station311
- 75.Comfort Inn301
- 76.Wingstop292
- 77.Crumbl Cookies290
- 78.BIGGBY Coffee289
- 79.Liberty Tax287
- 80.Americas Best Value Inn285
- 81.Microtel by Wyndham284
- 82.Supercuts283
- 83.Denny's282
- 84.Cottman Transmission281
- 85.The Little Gym281
- 86.Club Pilates281
- 87.Camp Bow Wow281
- 88.Holiday Inn Express276
- 89.Sign*A*Rama275
- 90.F45 Training270
- 91.Dickey's Barbecue Pit270
- 92.Once Upon A Child268
- 93.Naturals2go265
- 94.RE/MAX262
- 95.Menchies258
- 96.Sylvan Learning256
- 97.Huntington Learning Center251
- 98.Marble Slab Creamery249
- 99.TCBY247
- 100.Rita's Italian Ice247
- 101.True Value242
- 102.Gold's Gym242
- 103.The Grounds Guys241
- 104.Pet Supplies Plus240
- 105.Pizza Ranch237
- 106.Papa John's230
- 107.FedEx Ground223
- 108.Petland220
- 109.Post Net217
- 110.Texaco Service Station212
- 111.Grease Monkey211
- 112.General Nutrition Center210
- 113.Batteries Plus207
- 114.Line-X204
- 115.Century 21203
- 116.Rainbow International203
- 117.Knights Inn202
- 118.Mellow Mushroom201
- 119.Wendy's200
- 120.Cartridge World198
- 121.Great Harvest Bread Co.197
- 122.Pure Barre196
- 123.Amazing Lash Studio195
- 124.Jackson Hewitt Tax Service195
- 125.Popeyes194
- 126.NAPA Auto Parts193
- 127.Mr. Goodcents192
- 128.Baymont189
- 129.Snap-On-Tools188
- 130.Little Caesars188
- 131.Radio Shack187
- 132.Molly Maid185
- 133.Merle Norman Cosmetics180
- 134.Two Men And A Truck180
- 135.Urban Air Adventure Park180
- 136.Fox's Pizza177
- 137.Dogtopia175
- 138.Sonic174
- 139.Planet Fitness173
- 140.Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory173
- 141.Pearle Vision172
- 142.Jet's Pizza F/A172
- 143.Bee Hive Homes171
- 144.Exxon170
- 145.Jiffy Lube167
- 146.Auntie Ann's (Soft Pretzels)167
- 147.X-Golf166
- 148.College Hunks Hauling Junk165
- 149.Sir Speedy Printing163
- 150.Wild Birds Unlimited161
- 151.Pita Pit161
- 152.Moe's Sw Grill160
- 153.Checkers Drive-In Restaurants159
- 154.Hollywood Tans159
- 155.Mr. Handyman158
- 156.Taco Bell158
- 157.Allstate Insurance157
- 158.PuroClean157
- 159.Senior Helpers156
- 160.Wetzel's Pretzels156
- 161.Floor Coverings156
- 162.Visiting Angels154
- 163.Right at Home153
- 164.Which Wich F/A152
- 165.Brusters Limited Partnership150
- 166.Mountain Mike's Pizza150
- 167.D1t Raining149
- 168.Health Mart148
- 169.Candlewood Suites146
- 170.Code Ninjas146
- 171.Mr. Electric145
- 172.Sunoco Service Station145
- 173.Gameday Mens Health144
- 174.GOLF ETC OF AMERICA144
- 175.Wingate by Wyndham143
- 176.Cyclebar143
- 177.Waterstation142
- 178.CertaPro Painters142
- 179.Mr. Appliance141
- 180.Burn Boot Camp Fitness141
- 181.Stretch Lab140
- 182.Mighty Dog Roofing139
- 183.Fitness Together138
- 184.Teriyaki Madness138
- 185.Church's Fried Chicken137
- 186.Taco John's137
- 187.Comfort Suites136
- 188.Bahama Bucks134
- 189.Hobbytown Usa134
- 190.Huddle House134
- 191.Comfort Keepers134
- 192.PIRTEK134
- 193.Buffalo Wild Wings133
- 194.Goldfish Swim School132
- 195.Medicap Pharmacy131
- 196.Dbat131
- 197.Pump It Up Holdings130
- 198.Carvel130
- 199.Atlanta Bread Company128
- 200.AlphaGraphics126
Browse All Franchises A-Z
Franchise Financing Programs
The full capital stack for franchise acquisition, build-out, and refinance.
SBA 7(a) & 504
5.50–11.75%Up to $5M acquisition / real estate / equipment. Equity injection is lender underwriting.
CMBS Conduit
5.60–7.10%10-yr non-recourse fixed, $5M–$500M+, fully assumable
Bridge Loans
9.00–14.00%12–36 mo transitional, SOFR + 470-970 bps, 65-75% LTV
DSCR Investor
5.95–8.50%30-yr fixed rental, qualifies on property cash flow
Equipment Financing
5.50–12.00%Loan, lease, SBA 504, vendor, captive. Section 179 eligible
Hotel Financing
5.85–11.75%CMBS + SBA 504 + bridge + PIP across all flags
Private Credit
7.80–18.00%Non-bank flexibility, unitranche, recap, transitional
Invoice Factoring + ABL
0.5–3.5% / 30dB2B receivables, trucking / staffing / construction / govt
No-Doc CRE
7.50–11.50%Limited-doc commercial, asset-based underwriting
Indicative only, as of August 1, 2026. Not a quote, commitment or offer of credit. Final pricing, leverage and terms are determined by the lender at underwriting, after full transaction materials are reviewed. PeerSense does not lend and does not set pricing. What these terms mean.