Skip to main content
✦Prime Rate:7.00%✦Fed Funds:3.75%✦5 Yr Treasury:4.78%↓✦10 Yr Treasury:4.98%↓✦30 Yr Treasury:5.32%↓✦30 Yr Mortgage:7.24%·Updated Oct 29, 2026✦Prime Rate:7.00%✦Fed Funds:3.75%✦5 Yr Treasury:4.78%↓✦10 Yr Treasury:4.98%↓✦30 Yr Treasury:5.32%↓✦30 Yr Mortgage:7.24%·Updated Oct 29, 2026
Rates
Bright Star Healthcare/Brights

Bright Star Healthcare/Brights

The total investment to open a Bright Star Healthcare/Brights franchise ranges from $50,000 to $498,500. The initial franchise fee is $50,000.

What is the Bright Star Healthcare/Brights franchise?

Bright Star Healthcarebrights, operating through BrightStar Care, serves the growing need for in home healthcare and medical staffing as more older adults seek care at home. Shelly and JD Sun founded the company as BrightStar Healthcare in 2002. Initial operations were based in Gurnee, Illinois, followed by a corporate address in Bannockburn, IL. Franchising began in 2005. Some database records list 50 total units, including 47 franchised units, but a review of BrightStar Care shows more than 420 franchised locations nationwide as of January 20, 2026. The network has grown from approximately 300 locations in 2016 and operates across 38 U.S. states. Shelly Sun is now Executive Chairwoman of BrightStar Group Holdings, Inc., the parent company. Andrew Ray is Chief Executive Officer, Zack Woods is Chief Operating Officer, Dean Ulizio is Chief Strategy Officer, and Cheryl Stanton is Chief Legal and Government Affairs Officer. PeerSense presents independent franchise research for buyers evaluating this opportunity.

Bright Star Healthcarebrights operates in the home healthcare and medical staffing industry, supported by an aging Baby Boomer population and a preference for receiving care at home. Demand also reflects more chronic conditions, increased post operative and post hospital care needs, and broader interest in preventative and personalized services outside traditional clinical settings. The sector is expected to maintain double digit growth. Essential care services can produce demand through changing economic conditions, while the historically fragmented market is seeing consolidation among national brands with established operating systems. Rising healthcare costs, a shortage of skilled healthcare professionals, and changing regulations create a need for franchise systems that can recruit qualified staff and coordinate complex care. These conditions support continued demand across the 38 states where the brand operates.

The initial franchise fee is $50,000, with a military discount of $5,000 for eligible veterans. Franchise Disclosure Document data from 2025/2026 places the total initial investment at $132,499 to $235,038. Other reported ranges are $111,095 to $195,875 from a December 2023 report and $112,459 to $231,538. Some database records show an initial investment high of $498,500, potentially reflecting larger territories or more extensive build outs. Required liquid assets are generally reported at $150,000, although some sources cite $100,000. Buyers are also advised to keep at least one year of living expenses in reserve or maintain another income source. Listed cost items include the $50,000 franchise fee, office space from $3,600 to $9,600, furnishings from $2,000 to $4,000, computer and hardware costs from $4,000 to $9,500, and signage from $400 to $1. BrightStar Group Holdings, Inc. was acquired by Peak Rock on March 3, 2025.

A franchisee coordinates home healthcare and medical staffing from an administrative office. The staff may include Certified Nursing Assistants, Licensed Practical Nurses, Registered Nurses, administrative employees, and care coordinators. The business requires ongoing recruiting, training, and retention while meeting healthcare requirements. There are no stated format options such as drive thrus or kiosks. Care is arranged for clients in their homes or at medical facilities. BrightStar Care provides franchise support, though the available information does not specify the length or location of initial training. Support is described as including technology for client management, scheduling, and billing, marketing programs, and likely field consultant guidance. Franchisees generally receive defined exclusive territories. Existing owners entered 21 additional markets during 2025, indicating an opportunity for multi unit development. The model calls for substantial owner involvement and can be operated by an owner operator using corporate systems and support.

Unit growth provides another measure of system activity. The network grew from approximately 300 locations in 2016 to 329 in 2018, passed 340 U.S. locations by May 2020, and reached more than 365 franchised and corporate owned locations by April 2023. It reported more than 360 locations in December 2023. During the first half of 2024, BrightStar Care added 15 franchisees, signed 24 franchise agreements, and opened 16 locations, taking the committed franchise count above 400. The brand reported 400 open locations by September 2024. In 2025, it opened more than 30 locations, welcomed 20 franchise owners, and saw existing owners enter 21 additional markets. The system totaled 412 units by January 2025 and more than 420 franchised locations nationwide by January 20, 2026. The acquisition by Peak Rock occurred on March 3, 2025. Independent franchise research gives the brand a Loan Activity Score of 42, rated Fair.

Through BrightStar Care, the network grew from approximately 300 locations in 2016 to more than 420 franchised locations nationwide by January 20, 2026, an average annual increase of roughly 12 units over that decade. The first half of 2024 produced 16 openings, 24 new franchise agreements, and 15 new franchisees. In 2025, more than 30 locations opened, 20 new franchise owners joined, and existing owners expanded into 21 additional markets. BrightStar Care was acquired by Peak Rock on March 3, 2025. Shelly Sun became Executive Chairwoman of BrightStar Group Holdings, Inc., while Andrew Ray became Chief Executive Officer. The service offering includes skilled nursing, therapy, personal care, and medical staffing. The brand dates to 2002, began franchising in 2005, and has a presence across 38 states. During 2024, it expanded across 14 states: Minnesota, Oklahoma, Texas, California, Wisconsin, Michigan, Washington, New Mexico, Georgia, New Jersey, Indiana, Illinois, and Ohio.

A suitable franchisee is an entrepreneur with management experience and a commitment to healthcare service, rather than someone who must have prior healthcare industry experience. The financial expectation is generally at least $150,000 in liquid assets, though some sources cite $100,000. The model favors an owner operator who will manage daily operations and growth with support from the corporate system. Expansion by existing owners into 21 additional markets during 2025 points to multi unit development potential. Territories span 38 states, with further expansion planned for 2026 after growth across 14 states in 2024. The model may fit urban, suburban, and exurban markets where in home care demand is present. The available information does not specify the time from signing an agreement to opening a location. It also does not state the franchise agreement term. Standard industry practice is described as initial terms of 5 to 10 years with renewal options, but Bright Star Healthcarebrights specific terms should be confirmed in the franchise documents.

Bright Star Healthcarebrights operates in a home healthcare and medical staffing sector shaped by an aging population and demand for in home care. Its network grew to more than 420 franchised locations nationwide by January 20, 2026, and BrightStar Care was acquired by Peak Rock on March 3, 2025. Prospective buyers should complete their own due diligence. PeerSense offers independent franchise research that includes SBA lending history, the Loan Activity Score, location maps with Google ratings, FDD financial data, and side by side comparison tools.

Loan Activity Score

42/100

SBA Default Rate

4.7%

Active Lenders

34

According to its Franchise Disclosure Document or public business records, Bright Star Healthcare/Brights has 47 locations, all owned by franchisees. Public SBA loan records show 34 lenders made 64 loans to franchisees of Bright Star Healthcare/Brights. PeerSense calculates Bright Star Healthcare/Brights's score as 42 out of 100, using public SBA loan performance and recent lending activity.

Franchising since 2005 · 47 locations

Investment

$50,000 to $498,500

Franchise Fee

$50,000

Total Units

47

47 franchised

Loan Activity Score
High
42
SBA Lending
17
Lender Quality
9
Transparency
4
Reach
9
Momentum
3

Proprietary PeerSense metric

Fair
Capital Sources
34SBA lenders

Distinct lenders in public SBA records for Bright Star Healthcare/Brights

64

Total SBA loans

$227K

Average loan size

Source: public SBA 7(a) and 504 loan records through December 31, 2025

Referral fee at closing

SBA Lending Activity for Bright Star Healthcare/Brights

Loan Activity Score Breakdown

Established (25 to 99 loans)

High Confidence
42out of 100
Fair
Market Momentum3/35

Are lenders increasingly or decreasingly funding this brand? Growing trends score highest.

Loan Safety17/25

Blended default rate (recent + all time) compared to NAICS sector peers.

Lender Confidence9/15

Quality lenders actively backing this brand, with penalty for lender pullback.

Transparency4/15

FDD availability, Item 19 disclosure, and overall data completeness.

Footprint9/10

Geographic spread of SBA funded locations across states.

SBA Lending Performance

SBA Default Rate

4.7%

vs 3.2% peer avg

SBA Loans

64

Total Volume

$14.6M

Active Lenders

34

5 selective

States

22

vs. SBA Sector Average

-1.5%higher default rate

SBA loan default rate vs. all franchises in the same NAICS sector, not limited to direct competitors

Key Highlights

Low SBA default rate (4.7%)

Data Insights

Key performance metrics for Bright Star Healthcare/Brights based on SBA lending data

SBA Default Rate

4.7%

1.5% above peer avg

SBA Loan Volume

64 loans

Across 34 lenders

Lender Diversity

34 lenders

Avg 1.9 loans per lender

Investment Tier

Mid range investment

$50,000 to $498,500 total

Bright Star Healthcare/Brights: Deep SBA Data

Brand specific metrics derived directly from SBA 7(a) approval records: peak lending year, leading state, average loan size, and lender concentration. PeerSense computes these per brand so capital advisors and prospective franchisees can benchmark this opportunity against the rest of the franchise universe.

Peak SBA Year

2016

23 approvals. The best year on record for Bright Star Healthcare/Brights.

Top SBA State

Florida

10 SBA financed Bright Star Healthcare/Brights locations, the densest operator footprint.

Average Loan Size

$227K

Median $150K. Use as a sizing anchor when modeling your own Bright Star Healthcare/Brights unit.

Lender Concentration

29.7%

Moderately Spread

Share of Bright Star Healthcare/Brights approvals captured by the top 3 SBA lenders.

Bright Star Healthcare/Brights's SBA lending pipeline peaked in 2016 (23 approvals). Operator density is highest in Florida with 10 SBA financed locations. Average funded ticket sits at $227K, with the median at $150K. Lender mix is moderately spread: the top three SBA lenders account for 29.7% of approvals. Meaningful choice exists, but specific lenders carry the brand.

Payment Estimator

Loan Amount$40K
Interest Rate9.5%
Term (Years)10 yr

Estimated Monthly Payment

$518

Principal & Interest only

Indicative only, as of October 1, 2026. Not a quote, commitment or offer of credit. Final pricing, leverage and terms are determined by the lender at underwriting, after full transaction materials are reviewed. PeerSense sources the file. The lender sets pricing. What these terms mean.

Locations

Bright Star Healthcare/Brights, unit breakdown

Total Units
N/A
Franchisee Owned
n/a
System Owned
n/a
Closed
n/a

Explore Funding for Bright Star Healthcare/Brights

Our business financing consultants help connect you with the right lending partners. Referral fee paid at closing.

Optional: checking the consent box lets us call or text you about your funding. You can still submit without it.

Referral fee at closing

Or get an instant analysis

Scan Your Deal Instantly
Bright Star Healthcare/Brights

Page Review

Reviewed by Edward L. Freeman, Founder and Managing Director, PeerSense

  • PeerSense is a capital advisory firm that places commercial financing with direct capital sources; the capital source sets final terms.
  • Edward L. Freeman founded PeerSense in January 2020.
  • He is a Registered Franchise Consultant with Business Alliance, Inc., a credential issued in March 2022, and worked as a franchise consultant there from March 2022 to May 2023.
  • His recorded experience includes a $22 million SBA construction loan, with about $16 million funded on the deal.
  • In the 12 months through September 30, 2026, PeerSense tracked 912 publicly announced financings with a disclosed size of $361.32 billion. PeerSense Capital Data Report · Methodology page

Last reviewed LinkedIn profileAbout Edward Freeman

This is not a franchise offering and does not constitute financial, investment, or legal advice. Data is sourced from Franchise Disclosure Documents (FDDs), public filings, and third party sources and may contain inaccuracies. The figures reflect the FDD on file for the year shown and may have been superseded or extracted with errors. PeerSense is not a financial advisor, attorney, or accountant. Always consult the brand's current FDD and seek professional guidance from a qualified attorney, accountant, or financial advisor before making any franchise investment decision. See full Terms & Conditions.