Interim Healthcare
The total investment to open a Interim Healthcare franchise ranges from $156,000 to $628,000. The initial franchise fee is $75,000. Ongoing royalties are 5.5% plus a 1% advertising fee.
What is the Interim Healthcare franchise?
Interim Healthcare is an established franchisor in the home healthcare sector, offering home care, hospice care, healthcare staffing, and specialized medical care. Its history began in 1946, when Roy Dettman founded Labor Pool in Chicago, Illinois. In 1966, Medical Personnel Pool was created as a division of Labor Pool of America, marking the company’s entry into healthcare personnel services. The first Medical Personnel Pool franchise office opened in Palm Beach in 1967, with Al Sorensen serving as President. In 1971, Eino 'Arthur' Salo became one of the earliest franchise owners and opened four offices in Columbus, Cincinnati, Pittsburgh, and Milwaukee. Those offices eventually became the largest franchise operation in the Interim Healthcare network. The company adopted the name Interim HealthCare Inc. in 1992 as its services expanded beyond staffing into home health and private duty care. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports more than 300 independently owned franchises across 44 states in the United States. Other sources reported more than 330 locations in 44 states in 2014, while more recent figures cite 350 total units. PeerSense franchise data from a specific FDD reports 46 total franchised units, all independently owned, with no company owned locations. Interim Healthcare is affiliated with Caring Brands International, a healthcare services company present in seven countries. Its brand family includes more than 530 franchise locations worldwide, including United Kingdom based Bluebird Care and Australia based Just Better Care. This history and international affiliation make Interim Healthcare a mature franchise system for home healthcare investment review.
Home healthcare is a major and expanding part of the global economy. The supplied data does not provide a total addressable market figure, but it repeatedly identifies growing demand for home based care and changing healthcare needs and trends. An aging global population supports demand, as does the preference of many consumers to receive medical and personal care at home instead of in institutional settings. Medical technology also allows more complex services to be delivered outside hospitals. These conditions support companies designed to provide care in the home. The essential nature of healthcare can make the category less exposed to economic downturns, which may appeal to franchise investors seeking stability. Competition generally includes large national providers, regional networks, and many independent local businesses. Interim Healthcare’s history since 1946 and its reported network of more than 300 independently owned franchises across 44 U.S. states give it a substantial presence in the category. Healthcare systems are also under pressure to control costs and improve patient outcomes. Home based care can provide a less expensive alternative to extended hospital stays or long term facility care. Interim Healthcare’s combination of home care, hospice care, staffing, and specialized medical services is intended to address these continuing needs.
The financial information varies among Interim Healthcare disclosure documents and may reflect updates or different franchise models. PeerSense franchise data lists an initial franchise fee of $50,000, which is also one of the figures cited in the broader 2025 and 2026 information. The 2026 FDD lists an initial franchise fee of $60,000, while another 2025 FDD source lists $75,000. The PeerSense data reports a total initial investment of $125,500 to $198,500, a range also cited in other 2025 and 2026 information. By comparison, the 2026 FDD reports a total initial investment of $385,000 to $462,000. The difference may reflect separate service models, such as home care and healthcare staffing compared with broader offerings that include hospice, or updates in later disclosure documents. The 2026 FDD breaks out a $60,000 initial franchise fee, real property costs of $1,000 to $2,500, leasehold improvements, furniture, and fixtures of $2,000 to $5,000, equipment of $2,500 to $3,500, and opening marketing expenses of $3,000 to $4,500. It also includes training expenses and funds for 9 to 12 months of operation. PeerSense franchise data states that applicants need liquid capital of $75,000 and a net worth of $300,000. Caring Brands International provides the system with corporate affiliation, a presence in seven countries, and international healthcare market experience.
An Interim Healthcare franchise is designed to provide home care, hospice care, healthcare staffing, and specialized medical care. Franchisee responsibilities include managing healthcare professionals, coordinating patient care plans, meeting regulatory requirements, and building relationships through local community outreach. The labor model requires recruiting, training, and retaining caregivers, nurses, and administrative employees, so personnel management is central to daily operations. Drive through and kiosk formats do not apply to this type of business. The different investment ranges may indicate service models that focus on home care or later add hospice and staffing services. The available data does not state the length or location of the training program, but the 2026 FDD includes training expenses in the initial investment, confirming that training is part of the setup process. Corporate support is expected to include client management and scheduling technology, marketing programs, and supply relationships for medical equipment and supplies. The company’s 2025 focus on reinventing its brand and tightening processes also points to continued work on its operating system and franchise support. The expansion history of Eino 'Arthur' Salo, who opened four offices in 1971, and Tom DiMarco, who acquired majority ownership of the largest franchise group in 2004, indicates that the system has supported multi unit ownership. Corporate guidance for additional units may be available to qualified operators.
Interim Healthcare has operated since 1946 and has remained active through changing economic conditions and healthcare trends. Its relationship with Caring Brands International, which has more than 530 franchise locations across seven countries, provides access to a larger healthcare organization and international operating experience. In 2014, Interim Healthcare added 15 locations across eight states, showing expansion before later strategic changes. New franchise sales slowed in 2025 while the company concentrated on reinventing its brand and tightening processes. The stated purpose was to strengthen the system rather than address a reported operational failure. The company planned to accelerate expansion in 2026, including a new franchise expected to open in South Carolina in the Spring of 2026. Effective January 1, 2026, it also acquired its second largest franchisee. That transaction expanded corporate operations into the upstate and midlands of South Carolina and included a hospice location in Atlanta, Georgia.
Interim Healthcare reports more than 50 years of growth and has adjusted its services as healthcare needs and trends have changed. PeerSense data reports 46 franchised units, while broader research cites more than 300 independently owned franchises across 44 states in the 2026 FDD, more than 330 locations in 44 states in 2014, and a recent total of 350 units. Through Caring Brands International, the wider brand family includes more than 530 franchise locations in seven countries. In 2014, Interim Healthcare added 15 locations across eight states: California, Texas, Florida, Georgia, Virginia, New Jersey, Utah, and Maryland. During 2025, the company concentrated on reinventing the brand and tightening processes, which slowed the sale of new operations. The stated plan for 2026 was to accelerate expansion, including a new franchise in South Carolina in the Spring of 2026. Rexanne Domico joined the company in 2024 as President and COO and became CEO in January 2025. Earlier leaders included Kathleen Gilmartin in 2014 and Jennifer Sheets in 2020. The acquisition of the second largest franchisee, effective January 1, 2026, expanded corporate operations into the upstate and midlands of South Carolina and a hospice location in Atlanta, Georgia. Interim Healthcare’s competitive position rests on its history dating to 1946, its range of care services, and the resources of Caring Brands International. Its services continue to address demand for care delivered in the home.
A prospective Interim Healthcare franchisee generally needs business judgment, leadership ability, and a commitment to healthcare services. Experience in the sector may help, although management, operations, or another service industry background may also fit the operating model. The stated financial requirements are liquid capital of $75,000 and a net worth of $300,000. The development of four offices by Eino 'Arthur' Salo and Tom DiMarco’s leadership of the largest franchise group show that the system has accommodated multi unit owners. Interim Healthcare operates across 44 states in the United States, creating broad geographic availability for new territories. Its 2026 expansion plans include a new franchise in South Carolina in the Spring of 2026. The recent corporate acquisition also expanded operations in South Carolina and Atlanta, Georgia. Although specific market performance metrics are not provided, these activities point to areas receiving attention as demand for home based healthcare increases. The available information does not specify the franchise agreement term. It states that typical franchise agreements range from 5 to 10 years, with renewal options dependent on performance and operating standards. The period from signing to opening would include onboarding, training, and business setup. The duration would vary according to the selected service model and local regulatory requirements.
Interim Healthcare merits detailed due diligence for buyers considering a healthcare franchise. The company has operated since 1946 and has changed its services over time to address market needs. Its offerings include home care, hospice care, healthcare staffing, and specialized medical care. Demand is supported by an aging global population and consumer interest in receiving care at home, while the healthcare category may be less affected by economic downturns than some other industries. Caring Brands International adds an international affiliation, a presence in seven countries, and a family of brands with more than 530 franchise locations worldwide. The planned acceleration of expansion in 2026 and the corporate acquisitions described in the available information are part of the current growth plan. PeerSense provides due diligence data that includes SBA lending history, a Loan Activity Score, location maps with Google ratings, FDD financial data, and side by side comparison tools. PeerSense is a commercial capital advisory firm that introduces franchise buyers to SBA and conventional lenders. It is not a lender, and it does not fund or approve loans.
Loan Activity Score
69/100
SBA Default Rate
8.8%
Active Lenders
38
Franchisees account for 226 of Interim Healthcare's 230 locations. Public SBA loan records show 38 lenders made 68 loans to franchisees of Interim Healthcare. PeerSense calculates Interim Healthcare's score as 69 out of 100, using public SBA loan performance and recent lending activity. Cost figures are based on the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document. To correct a figure, email the current FDD and the differing item numbers to info@peersense.com, and this page will be updated.
Franchising since 1966 · 230 locations
$156,000 to $628,000
$75,000
230
226 franchised
Proprietary PeerSense metric
StrongDistinct lenders in public SBA records for Interim Healthcare
68
Total SBA loans
$457K
Average loan size
Source: public SBA 7(a) and 504 loan records through December 31, 2025
Referral fee at closing
SBA Lending Activity for Interim Healthcare
Loan Activity Score Breakdown
Established (25 to 99 loans)
Are lenders increasingly or decreasingly funding this brand? Growing trends score highest.
Blended default rate (recent + all time) compared to NAICS sector peers.
Quality lenders actively backing this brand, with penalty for lender pullback.
FDD availability, Item 19 disclosure, and overall data completeness.
Geographic spread of SBA funded locations across states.
SBA Lending Performance
SBA Default Rate
8.8%
vs 3.2% peer avg
SBA Loans
68
Total Volume
$31.1M
Active Lenders
38
3 selective
States
23
vs. SBA Sector Average
SBA loan default rate vs. all franchises in the same NAICS sector, not limited to direct competitors
Key Highlights
Franchise Financing Resources
Data Insights
Key performance metrics for Interim Healthcare based on SBA lending data
SBA Default Rate
8.8%
5.6% above peer avg
SBA Loan Volume
68 loans
Across 38 lenders
Lender Diversity
38 lenders
Avg 1.8 loans per lender
Investment Tier
Significant investment
$156,000 to $628,000 total
Interim Healthcare: Deep SBA Data
Brand specific metrics derived directly from SBA 7(a) approval records: peak lending year, leading state, average loan size, and lender concentration. PeerSense computes these per brand so capital advisors and prospective franchisees can benchmark this opportunity against the rest of the franchise universe.
Peak SBA Year
2018
7 approvals. The best year on record for Interim Healthcare.
Top SBA State
California
10 SBA financed Interim Healthcare locations, the densest operator footprint.
Average Loan Size
$457K
Median $285K. Use as a sizing anchor when modeling your own Interim Healthcare unit.
Lender Concentration
35.3%
Moderately Spread
Share of Interim Healthcare approvals captured by the top 3 SBA lenders.
Interim Healthcare's SBA lending pipeline peaked in 2018 (7 approvals). The last five fiscal years account for 29% of cumulative volume ($13M approved). Operator density is highest in California with 10 SBA financed locations. Average funded ticket sits at $457K, with the median at $285K. Lender mix is moderately spread: the top three SBA lenders account for 35.3% of approvals. Meaningful choice exists, but specific lenders carry the brand.
Payment Estimator
Estimated Monthly Payment
$1,615
Principal & Interest only
Indicative only, as of October 1, 2026. Not a quote, commitment or offer of credit. Final pricing, leverage and terms are determined by the lender at underwriting, after full transaction materials are reviewed. PeerSense sources the file. The lender sets pricing. What these terms mean.
Locations
Interim Healthcare, unit breakdown
Explore Funding for Interim Healthcare
Our business financing consultants help connect you with the right lending partners. Referral fee paid at closing.
Or get an instant analysis
Scan Your Deal Instantly1 FDD Available for Interim Healthcare
Review franchise fees, investment ranges, royalties, Item 19 financial data, and year over year trends. Request complimentary access through your PeerSense funding advisor.
Page Review
Reviewed by Edward L. Freeman, Founder and Managing Director, PeerSense
- PeerSense is a capital advisory firm that places commercial financing with direct capital sources; the capital source sets final terms.
- Edward L. Freeman founded PeerSense in January 2020.
- He is a Registered Franchise Consultant with Business Alliance, Inc., a credential issued in March 2022, and worked as a franchise consultant there from March 2022 to May 2023.
- His recorded experience includes a $22 million SBA construction loan, with about $16 million funded on the deal.
- In the 12 months through September 30, 2026, PeerSense tracked 912 publicly announced financings with a disclosed size of $361.32 billion. PeerSense Capital Data Report · Methodology page
Last reviewed LinkedIn profileAbout Edward Freeman